Furious Love

Just started reading “The Furious Longing of God” by Brennan Manning (if you’ve never read any of his books, get your hands on them as fast as you can, it’s the real deal). He’s got me thinking about the love of God. And he’s got me wanting (well, more like starving) to come into a deeper understanding of His agape love.

I’m reminded of a past episodic experience of longing for more of His love. My thoughts on that experience are here

As tears fill my eyes and a chuckle fills my throat, I can’t deny that this is exactly what God has been doing in me this year. Painstakingly obvious. And here I am, with a little better understanding and sweeter taste lingering in my soul about what His agape love is all about. It means His unhindered and very real expressions of His tender affection toward me. His compassion [“com”= with / “passion”=suffer]… how He has suffered with me through the difficulties unparalleled to any other I’ve experienced. Yup. He has taken me much, much deeper into the ocean of His love… and the waves continue to crash upon me with His furious longing for me.

It’s like that time I was a little girl, playing naively in the waves of the ocean. I had yet to experience the furious power that carried those waves from the other side of the waters. I remember it so clearly… getting joyfully ready to ride the ginormous wave coming toward me, but my timing was a bit off. Next thing I know, I’m hurled down through the ocean by its forceful power and fury, doing unintentional summersaults beneath the wave. I didn’t know what hit me and I was in the current of its mercy. I can still close my eyes and see the murky waters filling my eyes and rushing into every orifice on my face. I honestly thought I was going to die. It was too strong; I was too weak. I fought as hard as I could to come up for air, but obviously the wave had me under its control. I finally got above water, spit all the h2o out of my mouth and nose, and took a giant breath of air… a breath I really didn’t think I’d be able to reach. Then I had a bit of a meltdown, clawed my way out of the murderous ocean, and safely sat on the sand.

Furious love. That’s the jealous love of God. If violence could have a positive connotation, I suppose that would be a great word to describe His love and affection toward me, and how He expresses it. He has been so faithful in caring tenderly for me while the forceful waves and storms of life pull me under. His waves of love are stronger. And I’m finding that not even the force of all that is against me can separate me from His tender affection for me. The fury of His “love” wave sweeps me up out of the current of that which is against me. And that love is the wave that carries me, somehow peacefully, above the turbulent waters sent to drown me.

I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, nor any powers [“beginnings, origin, cause”], not present circumstances nor impending circumstances [I am about to suffer by divine appointment], not height [“rampart, barrier, bulwark”] nor depth [“extremely deep; hidden things”], nor any created thing or person could ever separate [“divorce”] me from the agape love of God that is mine in Christ Jesus.

Nope. Nothing.
[Romans 8.38-39]

